Free Newsletter
Register for our Free Newsletters
Associations, Services and Universities
Automotive Industry
Design & Manufacturing Services
Education, Training and Professional Services
Electrical Components
Electronic Components
Fastening and Joining
Laboratory Equipment
Machine Building & Automation
Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul (MRO)
Materials & Processes
Materials Processing and Machine Tools
Mechanical Components
View All
Other Carouselweb publications
Carousel Web
Defense File
New Materials
Pro Health Zone
Pro Manufacturing Zone
Pro Security Zone
Web Lec

British Safety Council launches 2014 International Safety Awards

British Safety Council : 05 October, 2013  (Company News)
The British Safety Council has formally launched its 2014 International Safety Awards, which are designed to recognise an organisation’s commitment to good health and safety management during the 2013 calendar year.
2014 will mark the 56th year of the International Safety Awards, which have made a significant contribution over that time to promoting and celebrating the benefits that well-managed and proportionate workplace health and safety bring.
The awards are open to organisations of all sizes and sectors, both members of the British Safety Council and non-members in the UK and overseas. Applications are welcome both from past winners and first time entrants; there is nothing to stop a first time entrant being successful if they can demonstrate clearly their commitment to good health and safety management in the application process.
Last year, 470 organisations from a wide range of industry sectors and countries won an International Safety Award, including Aston Martin Lagonda, Barclays, Bolton Wanderers Football Club, Delhi International Airport, Kier Construction, Kuwait Oil Company, Notting Hill Housing Group, United Biscuits and the University of Edinburgh – to name but a few.
Launching the awards, Alex Botha, British Safety Council chief executive, said: “Excellent health and safety management is good for people and good for business; it makes workplaces safer and healthier. Good health and safety is good business. The International Safety Awards recognise those organisations from around the globe that have shown a real commitment and dedication to keeping their workplaces and workers healthy and safe. By winning an International Safety Award, an organisation can enhance its reputation among employees, customers and shareholders, publicise its achievements in managing health and safety, and encourage other businesses around the world to strive to ensure that no one is injured or made ill at work.” 
The application process
Applications are completed online, and applicants answer a series of questions about their organisation’s approach to health and safety. The online system is easy to use, and applicants can revisit the online questions as many times as they like before they decide to submit, which is done with a click of a button.
Once submitted the applications are assessed by a team of independent chartered health and safety professionals who decide whether the application meets the required standard and whether it warrants a pass, merit or - for really exceptional submissions - a distinction. The closing date for applications is 21 February 2014 and the results will be announced on 13 March 2014.
Celebrating success at the Gala Dinner
The International Safety Awards Gala Dinner, held at the famous Grosvenor House Hotel in London on 25 April 2014, will celebrate the success of the winners and can be attended by anyone in the health and safety sector. Attendees will enjoy a spectacular evening that includes awards presentations, a superb dinner, fabulous entertainment and dancing. The event is a great opportunity for winners and others to reward their staff for making their workplaces safer and healthier and to network with hundreds of other like-minded people and organisations from around the world.
Recognising individuals
Once again this year, within the International Safety Award scheme, the British Safety Council is running two awards which recognise exceptional individual performance: the Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award, for non-health and safety personnel over the age of 21, and the Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award, for non-health and safety personnel aged 16-21.
These are optional and free to enter for all International Safety Award entrants, and provide applying organisations with the opportunity to nominate particular employees who have gone the extra mile to help ensure the health, safety and welfare of colleagues and others. The winners of both awards will receive two tickets to the International Safety Awards Gala Dinner, including all travel and overnight accommodation costs.
  • Last year’s Health and Safety Champion was Radoslaw Kozlowaski, a warehouse operative at Total Food Service Solutions Ltd, based in Yorkshire and Lancashire, who impressed the judges with his efforts to help management eliminate hazards such as trailing cables that posed a tripping risk.
  • Kai Bedford, an apprentice engineer at Hertfordshire-based JSM Construction Ltd, was awarded Young Health and Safety Champion after judges applauded his innovative methods of communicating health and safety messages to colleagues, such as displaying witty slogans and catchy signage on work sites.    
Bookmark and Share
Home I Editor's Blog I News by Zone I News by Date I News by Category I Special Reports I Directory I Events I Advertise I Submit Your News I About Us I Guides
   © 2012
Netgains Logo